His Banner Over Me Was Love

This blog was written by fellow devotion writer, Bryan Peters.

“He brought me to the banqueting hall, and his banner over me was love.”
(Song of Solomon 2:4)

Dear believer, if you are Christ’s, what a banner of love he has unfurled over you.  Consider how you stand before your prince,

I served other masters,
yet his banner over me was love.

I rejected his commands and served him as I desired,
yet his banner over me was love.

I dragged his name through the mud,
yet his banner over me was love.

I avoided his audiences for the sake of my own pleasures and endeavors,
yet his banner over me was love.

I rebelled against the authority of his deputies,
yet his banner over me was love.

I vandalized and assaulted his likeness,
yet his banner over me was love.

I sought comfort in the arms of strange lovers,
yet his banner over me was love.

I rejected his gifts to me and took what he gave others,
yet his banner over me was love.

I twisted his decrees and offended him with my lies,
yet his banner over me was love.

I wanted everything… but him.
Yet his banner over me was love.

If you have been taken into the household of our Lord Jesus Christ, there are a thousand accusations which might arise against your bond with him.  In every one of these ten areas of his rule, you have rebelled against his sovereign reign and you continue to insult him with your disobedience in thought, word, and deed.

Yet there is one word extended so that every eye may see above the bowed and bedraggled head of the blood-bought rebel:  LOVE.

Precious Savior and Beloved King, thy love is better than life.  Make me to feel the weight of my continued offenses and insults committed under the glorious banner of thy sovereign and free love.  Bring the reality of thy love home to my soul that I would desire thee alone and none other.  Let thy love dwell in my soul as a blazing fire which nothing may soothe but the sight of thy face in glory.

Leave a comment